Have been going through old photos and screenshots and among other things I came across some that brought WoW-related memories back. This post will be dedicated to those flashbacks.

Through American open beta, Korean beta, European final beta and released game level 1-60 and all the way to farming Molten Core I was playing with a guild called Pantheon, which later on after a merge became Pantheon Blades. Had a lot of fun and in some sense those days before raiding, when everything was new was the most fun I’ve ever had in WoW.

Judgement Day

Judgement Day

The European Final Beta ended with an event called Judgement Day. Dedicated on playing a warrior in the release I played a priest in FB just to get the point of view of those who were going to keep me alive. Though I’ve been playing most classes the character in this screenie is (read: was) my highest level priest ever. In the Korean beta we tried out what playing horde was like.

Main Tank in Molten Core

YOU ARE THE BOMB!

This picture shows my character Bwian, who was one of the tank spec warriors in the guild rotating for the main tank role. About to take on a fire damage boss one can see that I’m wearing fire resistance gear. I remember having a peak fire resistance at over 500. Note that it was a peak value. When later on fire resistance was nerfed with a cap I had no trouble at all reaching cap and simply changed a few pieces in my gear to get more stamina.

Anyway after playing for a very long time together things came to an end. We took a few bosses down in Blackwing Lair but ran into a brick wall. The fractures in the guild became more obvious and after a few revival attempts it ended up with people going separate ways.

3-man Scholomance

3-man Scholomance

At that time I turned to playing other characters. With lots of people on friends and the guild list getting shorter by the day few had any interest in doing 5-man dungeons and the attempts on getting raids going turned out to lack the manpower needed.  I turned to PvP. I kept an eye on the LookingForGroup channel and once in a while joined in if I found one who looked promising. That was how I met two players of Ambassadors of Truth. Long story short I applied and got accepted by AoT. It wasn’t a trade down but I shortly realized that the spirit in AoT was like-minded with my ambitions. AoT was (and still is) a guild that had what Pantheon used to have.  A good social foundation, and the raiding just worked itself out. The screenshot above is one of my favourite moments. I was part of the team that were first to beat one of the AoT Challenges, killing Ganding 3-man.

Balnazzar downed by a group of Warriors

Balnazzar downed by a group of Warriors

Another of those AoT challenges were to take Balnazzar down with characters all from the same class. One would have expected a versatile class such as druids or paladins to be the first to beat that challenge but it was a bunch of warriors who nailed him first. If memory does not fail me two other teams completed this challenge. A group of warlocks and a group of hunters. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Ambassadors of Truth Christmas Card of 2006

Ambassadors of Truth Christmas Card of 2006

This one explains itself pretty well on it’s own.

With the release of the expansion I had the chance to change class and ceased it. Ever since I’ve been playing a druid. Almost all the time since then I’ve been feral spec. I love the versatality of the class. Some of greatest memories from PvP was when I as a level 60 druid had highest possible speed in every shape. I was able to prowl in and steal the flag using dash to get away or if the situation was hot I was able to carry it away having well over 20k armor in bear form. And I was moving slightly slightly quicker than those trying to hit me. When in a premade with among others Amrahil we were unstopable.

Leveling up to 70 and raiding with AoT was an honor and a joy. However the killings by the blades of AoT are documented well elsewere so I won’t mention any of that in this post. Also, one can’t have flashbacks to think that have not been forgotten.

Pull more of them!

Pull more of them!

Amra is a friend from Pantheon who though we went separate way kept in contact. At level 70 I used to tank for them in 5-man farming runs (doing the same instance over and over repeatedly until some random loot dropped) at occasion. As a tank my instructions were to never ever pause for mana unless told so. The above screenshot is from one such run. In order to clear the place as quick as possible one of the players were to mount up, ride around and train as many of the mobs as possible. We spent longer time waiting for the rider to come back than killing everything. There was never a chance to loot them with all corpses on top of each other.

farewekk

farewekk

This far into the post I was thinking about how to end it. I can’t think of any better way but when with the word, farewekk!

